Eastern Riverina Arts appoints new Executive Director

After 12 months acting in the role of Executive Director, Tim Kurylowicz has been permanently appointed to the role at Eastern Riverina Arts.

The seasoned arts and cultural worker takes the helm of the local not for profit organization after Scott Howie’s 10 year stint in the gig.

Tim Kurylowicz believes the region’s artists and creative workers can play an essential role in helping the post-Covid recovery.

“As a region, we need those events and experiences to attract regional tourism, creative activities to reactivate our main streets, and new experiences to help people reconnect after the droughts and fires they’ve endured. All of these needs can be met by our local creatives”

“Eastern Riverina Arts will keep working to deliver those economic, livability and social benefits across our region”

The announcement comes in the final week of the Arbour Festival – an event coordinated by Eastern Riverina Arts to mark the first anniversary of the devastating Dunn’s Road Fire.

Kurylowicz said “The Arbour festival just exemplifies the great work an organization like Eastern Riverina Arts can do. We’ve seen bushfire-affected communities given opportunities to engage in positive and creative experiences during the anniversary of the fires, and bringing tourism dollars to local businesses.”

Anne Lowe, Chair of Eastern Riverina Arts said “Tim has steered the organisation through a really challenging year, and has worked with a great team to deliver the Arbour Festival, an important event marking 12 months since the devastating Dunns Road fire.”

“Tim has a strong commitment to the Arts and Cultural sector of our regional communities, and he is extremely well positioned to lead this organisation through a period of recovery and growth.”

Eastern Riverina Arts is the peak body for arts and cultural development in the Eastern Riverina region and is part of a network of arts organisations across regional New South Wales. They work in partnership with the eight Local Government Areas of Bland, Coolamon, Cootamundra-Gundagai, Lockhart, Junee, Snowy Valleys, Temora and Wagga Wagga.

Eastern Riverina Arts is supported by the New South Wales Government through Create NSW and is a member of Regional Arts New South Wales.

image: Jack of Hearts Studio